Karate lineage and influential sources

Hakuda Kempo Toshu Jutsu was formalised by Simon Keegan (5th Dan Renshi) and this document traces his principal teachers in traditional Karate but also influential sources derived from other arts. Lineage is perhaps the wrong word because things in martial arts are very seldom linear.

renshi2

The primary influence on my Toshu Jutsu is Shotokan/Budokan Karate. Initially I was taught by my father David Keegan (and not to mention the boxing and Jujutsu tradition on my mother’s side of the family.)

My formal Karate teacher from the 1990s Shihan Stephen Bullough (Bushidokan) who had in turn studied both Shotokan and Budokan (under M Newton a student of Chew Choo Soot) among others.

Kanazawa Sensei teaching in Preston
Kanazawa Sensei teaching in Preston

From the 2000s my teacher was R Carruthers and later I trained and graded with his teacher P Handyside who trained under masters like Kanazawa Hirokazu in Shotokan and Chew Choo Soot in Budokan. The Budokan style is significant because Grandmaster Chew combined Kanken Toyama’s Karate (including Shuri Te, Naha Te and Tomari Te) with elements of Shotokan, Kung Fu and indigenous Malaysian arts.

Malaysian master Chew Choo Soot 10th Dan
Malaysian master Chew Choo Soot 10th Dan

I was graded 5th Dan in the same Dojo where Chew taught Shihan Handyside. Kanazawa Sensei also studied Yang style Tai Chi and Okinawan Shorin Ryu and Goju Ryu. Kanazawa trained with Funakoshi who trained with Azato who trained with Matsumura who trained with Sakugawa.

Thus, I regard Shotokan/Budokan as my primary influence. Secondary is Goju Ryu, Jujutsu, Quan Fa and several other arts.

Chew Choo Soot teaching in Shihan Handysides Preston Dojo in 1978. Simon Keegan grading 5th Dan in the same Dojo in 2012
Chew Choo Soot teaching in Shihan Handysides Preston Dojo in 1978. Simon Keegan grading 5th Dan in the same Dojo in 2012

Influential sources: Jujutsu, Judo, Aikido, Bushido, Tai Chi, Iaido, Muay Thai…

Childhood

My father and uncle John in China in the 1980s
My father and uncle John in China in the 1980s
My uncle John as a Shotokan blackbelt in the 1970s with H Cook
My uncle John as a Shotokan blackbelt in the 1970s with H Cook
Me aged about 8 with my Nunchaku which my dad taught me to use
Me aged about 8 with my Nunchaku which my dad taught me to use
With my Chinese broadsword aged about 13
With my Chinese broadsword aged about 13

Karate

Aged 16 as a student of Steve Bullough in the Bushido Academy learning a blend of Shotokan, Budokan, Aikido, Judo, Kobudo, boxing and many other elements
Aged 16 as a student of Steve Bullough in the Bushido Academy learning a blend of Shotokan, Budokan, Aikido, Judo, Kobudo, boxing and many other elements
After placing first in the British association Kumite I took on the world champion
After placing first in the British association Kumite I took on the world champion

image

Awarded my blackbelt in 1999
Awarded my blackbelt in 1999 by Shihan Stephen Bullough

Kung Fu

12366305_10153821092681204_1739078416495741959_n

Chinese sword, studied in Yang style Taiji
Chinese sword, studied in Yang style Taiji

73637_487818271203_5427761_n

I had chance to attend annual seminars with Li De Yin
I had chance to attend annual seminars with Li De Yin
My Wigan club was founded in 2000. Teaching elements of Karate, Judo, Aikido, Iaido and some Taiji principles was controversial at the time
My Wigan club was founded in 2000. Teaching elements of Karate, Judo, Aikido, Iaido and some Taiji principles was controversial at the time. Bob Carruthers became my mentor for the next 10 years

12368984_10153821092086204_755567443987383150_n

Nihon Jujutsu

Nihon Jujutsu grandmaster, the late Shizuya Sato
Nihon Jujutsu grandmaster, the late Shizuya Sato
I achieved Dan grades in various styles of Jujutsu as well as Judo. Here I am being awarded 2nd Dan in London
I achieved Dan grades in various styles of Jujutsu as well as Judo. Here I am being awarded 2nd Dan in London
I was also awarded 2nd Dan in Nihon Jujutsu and trained with the likes of J Hearn, S Sato and M Kondo
I was also awarded 2nd Dan in Nihon Jujutsu and trained with the likes of J Hearn, S Sato and M Kondo
In Kokusai Budoin - IMAF I trained in Nihon Jujutsu, Okinawan Goju Ryu, Judo and Iaido
In Kokusai Budoin – IMAF I trained in Nihon Jujutsu, Okinawan Goju Ryu, Judo and Iaido

Okinawan Goju Ryu

Training with Kokusai Budoin chief director Tadanori Nobetsu, headmaster of Nisseikai Goju Ryu
Training with Kokusai Budoin chief director Tadanori Nobetsu, headmaster of Nisseikai Goju Ryu a style that unites Naha Te with Feeding Crane Kung Fu

10577086_10152677907676204_3376720897628885138_n

During my 3rd Dan grading with R Parsons 7th Dan Nisseikai Goju Ryu
During my 3rd Dan grading with R Parsons 7th Dan Nisseikai Goju Ryu
14370240_10154564931191204_1199736872448764713_n
Goju Ryu grandmaster Tadanori Nobetsu

Koryu Iaijutsu

The Koryu art of Muso Jikiden Eishin Ryu
The Koryu art of Muso Jikiden Eishin Ryu
On a Muso Jikiden Eishin Ryu grading panel
On a Muso Jikiden Eishin Ryu grading panel
My father with Muso Jikiden Eishin Ryu masters
My father with Muso Jikiden Eishin Ryu masters
Muso Jikiden Eishin Ryu grandmaster Keiji Tose
Muso Jikiden Eishin Ryu grandmaster Keiji Tose
with Muso Jikiden Eishin Ryu master A Tattersall authorised in the art by Dai Nippon Butokukai and trained with the Soke
with Muso Jikiden Eishin Ryu master A Tattersall authorised in the art by Dai Nippon Butokukai and trained with the Soke

Classical Arnis

My Karate teacher R Carruthers introduced me to Classical Arnis
My Karate teacher R Carruthers introduced me to Classical Arnis
Training with Abaniko Tres Puntas grandmaster Rene Tongson
Training with Abaniko Tres Puntas grandmaster Rene Tongson
copy_of_gm_pose2
Filipino grandmaster R Tongson

Koryu Uchinadi and Karate Jutsu

In Poland with Karate Jutsu master T Wingrove
In Poland with Karate Jutsu master T Wingrove
Koryu Uchinadi master P McCarthy
Koryu Uchinadi master P McCarthy
With my Kung Fu brother J Dang whose family were originally Tang listening to R Parsons teach Goju Ryu. Myself and J Dang discussed the similarities between Tang Kung Fu and Karate forms like Seisan and possible links to Tang Daiji, the colleague of White Crane and Karate pioneer Gokenki
With my Kung Fu brother J Dang whose family were originally Tang listening to R Parsons teach Goju Ryu. Myself and J Dang discussed the similarities between Tang Kung Fu and Karate forms like Seisan and possible links to Tang Daiji, the colleague of White Crane and Karate pioneer Gokenki
With J Dang
With J Dang
My student Kev at the Shaolin Temple
My student Kev at the Shaolin Temple

Muay Thai and ringsports

In the ring in Liverpool
In the ring in Liverpool

liverpool

thai-e1416340122582 thrust-kick12800246_10154007302551204_2596261554829811385_n

Hakuda Kempo Toshu Jutsu

uchi
In 2007 as a 4th Dan Karate and Jujutsu I formalised my teachings into a system called Hakuda Kempo Toshu Jutsu
With Shihan
With Shihan

mai

Performing kata at Doki Doki Japanese festival
Performing kata at Doki Doki Japanese festival
Okinawan Kobudo with Fumio Demura
Okinawan Kobudo with Fumio Demura

demura

Grandmaster Fumio Demura
Grandmaster Fumio Demura
Publication of my study the Lost Book of Kushanku
Publication of my study the Lost Book of Kushanku
Performing kata with the London Symphony Orchestra
Performing kata with the London Symphony Orchestra
Renshi Simon Keegan - 5th Dan Karate, 4th Dan Jujutsu, pioneer of Hakuda Kempo Toshu Jutsu
Renshi Simon Keegan – 5th Dan Karate, 4th Dan Jujutsu, pioneer of Hakuda Kempo Toshu Jutsu

Manchester: Karate & Jujutsu

Circle Martial Arts
Marlboro House
52 Newton Street, Manchester M1 1ED
Mondays: 8:30pm  (first class October 17 2016)
Simon Keegan 5th Dan Renshi
Email: simonkeeganmedia@gmail.com
weaponswall


 

Leave a Reply

